LCHF quiche with spinach and hotsmoked trout

Today, when I stepped onto my scales, I had lost 4 kg (8 lb) in 18 days (and that in spite of me having a carb feast at the weekend)……. It really spurs me on! I am eating about 1800 kcal/day at the moment and I have not had time to exercise, so it’s purely down to the diet!

I have been wanting to try alternative ways of making normal carb filled meals. I don’t think you can really substitute cauliflower for rice and there is no alternative to the potato, but I have figured out how to make something that resembles pasta and today I have tried out a recipe for making a quiche.

I stole the recipe for the base off this blog: http://frksveske.blogspot.dk/2013/03/nem-lchf-trtebund.html

20130925-161936.jpg

It is crisp and I have already had a little taste of the “pastry” and it is delicious.

Base
140 g almonds
30 g sesame seeds
30 s sunflower seeds
1 egg
40 g butter
1/2 tsp salt

Filling
3 eggs
60 g of grated cheese
100 g of milk or as I have use, cream
100 g chopped spinach
a packet of hot-smoked trout (125 g) or any fish, smoked or fresh, you like.

Put the nuts and seeds in an electrical chopper and chop till it’s fine like flour.
Mix with the butter, making sure it’s all even. Then mix the egg in.
Spread the mixture into a quiche dish, spread evenly and up the sides.
Bake at 160 degreed for 15 minutes.

Now mix the eggs, cheese, cream and spinach. Add salt and pepper. Spread the fiks and then the egg mixture onto the precooked base.

Bake at 200 degrees for 30 minuttes (keep an eye on it.

I am serving this as lunch for a colleague who is also follwing the lchf principles…. can’t wait to see what she thinks!

Leave a Reply

