Low Carb Adventure: Moroccan chicken thighs with stir fried vegetables

Moroccan chicken with stir fired vegetables

Spurred on by last week’s weight loss, I have decided to continue on the low carb diet. I have read up on the pros can cons and the long term effects do not look good on a strictly non carb diet, but what I am doing is not cutting out carbs totally – on Atkins I wouldn’t be allowed simple things like carrots or fruit as they contain fruit sugar, but I have only cut out the unhealthy carbs out: pasta, rice, bread and potatoes…….. I obviously have to replace them with other foods with fiber in them, so I am trying to eat things like leeks, cabbage, fruits, nuts, avocado, peas and broccoli – there are loads of ways of getting fibers which doesn’t include eating bread. And then of course, I need to eat loads of protein

So, what is the theory behing the low carb, high protein diet?

“The thermal effects of protein raises your metabolism and makes your burn more calories than you do from the same amount of calories ingested in the form of fat or carbohydrate. On top of that, studies have shown that protein settles your hunger far more efficiently than both fat and carbohydrate as protein gives and better and longer lasting feeling of being full”  (translated from http://www.alun.dk/sund-kost/protein-sundhed-fitness-vaegttab.html#)

On top of that, the body will naturally look to burn carbohydrates in your body when they are present, but when they are not present, you body will find other energy sources and will start burning your fat instead…………….

So, phase 2 of my diet starts here………. phase 1 was by the book – controlled calories, wholegrain, fruit, smaller portions and loads of exercise, but eventually my body stagnated and no matter how careful I was or how much exercise I did, I didn’t seem to be getting anywhere.

I had never expected to cut out carbs (I love them), but I am determined to lose weight this time, so this is it…………… on top of this, I can’t help but feel that I am really healthy as I am forced to think about other ways of eating than making a sandwich or cooking some pasta – I can’t opt out on the salads or vegetables, so I feel really healthy……..

Anyway, here is my last dinner:

Moroccan Chicken with Stir Fried Vegetables (serves 1 person)

  • 3 chicken thighs covered in Moroccan spices (chili, garlic powder, cinnamon, coriander, paprika, cumin, salt and pepper)
  •  1 onion
  • 1/3 red pepper
  • 1/3 green pepper
  • 10 mushrooms
  • a handful of broccoli
  • 1 teaspoon of gyros mix
  • oil to fry
  • 3 spoonfuls of Greek 10% yogurt with fresh herbs (coriander, dill, chives, parsley, basil – or whatever you have)
  • Salt

Fry chicken on a pan till cooked through

Cut vegetables into bits the same size (mushrooms in half) and fry in oil with gyros mix.

Mix Greek yogurt with fresh herbs and salt.

Serve and eat! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

