The Low Carb Adventure: roast pork with a winter coleslaw

The rest of the day went okay – had the scramble eggs for breakfast, had 2 meatballs and a salad of lettuce, carrot, cucumber, celery and a yogurt dressing made out of yogurt, ketchup, chili sauce and some salt. It’s been manageable all day, but it’s now 4 hours since we had dinner and I am starving……….. hoping I can get used to this.

Tonight’s dinner consisted of:

Roast pork with crackling and winter coleslaw

Winter coleslaw: serves 4 people

  • 1/3 of a red cabbage, finely shredded
  • 1 leek, finely sliced
  • 2 small apples, cut into small chunks
  • 1 red onion, finely sliced
  • 1 handful of raisins
  • 1 handful of almonds, roasted on a hot pan (no oil) and chopped
  • Oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and serve with the roast pork (or any other kind of meat you want).

5 thoughts on “The Low Carb Adventure: roast pork with a winter coleslaw

  1. Pingback: Chicken in the Römertopf | Johanne's World of Food

  2. I copied your idea with the coleslaw, however i made it with cabbage as I had some I the fridge already (tony hates me eating cabbage…. wonder why?). I also added a grated carrot. The dressing was slightly different as I just had to use what I had – but the dry roasted almonds were fab!

    • Yeah. I think mine is as well as I have eaten it for the last there days -and the complaints from Tony is getting fewer. Or perhaps it’s him getting used to it – I don’t know…. 😉

  3. Pingback: Minced pork, leek and mushroom pie with a short crust pastry | Johanne's World of Food

Leave a Reply

