Low carb dinner adventure: breaded pork patties with a green bean salad

I have to say that I am in NO way planning on doing The Atkins Diet – I am simply setting out to make dinner recipes without potatoes, rice, pasta, bread or cousous……… so there WILL be carbohydrates in my recipes – both in the sugar from fruit and vegetables, but also in the form of breadcrumbs.
Here is my first recipe………… we had dinner at 6 pm and I stayed full till the morning – that was a success for me as I am normally convinced that with a meal with no carbs, I will starve by 8 pm.
Breaded pork patties:
  • 500 g (1lb) minced pork
  • a handful of bread crumbs, mixed with 1/ teaspoon of salt and some ground black pepper
  • 1 egg
  • 2 spoonfuls of oil for frying

Divide the meat into 4 patties, dip in egg, then in bread crumbs. Now fry on the pan 6-7 minutes on each side till golden and cooked through.

Green Bean salad:

  • 400 g of frozen green beans
  • 1 onion, very finely chopped
  • 3 spoonfuls oil
  • 1 spoonful white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 spoonful of salt
  • ground pepper
Boil the beans for 5 minutes and set aside to cool down. Chop the onion very finely, Add the chilled beans, oil, vinegar, salt and pepper and mix. Serve the pork patty with the salad and some low fat hollandaise sauce from my previous blog……….
Leave a Reply

